logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

skyman
#1 Posted : Thursday, 4 June 2009 11:15:00 a.m.(UTC)
skyman

Groups: Registered

I have been playing the pokies for over a year stopped for three months and started again in December won a big jackpot and lost it all and there i am back on the slippery slope. I now know that I am addicted and can never play again. I am well educated have a high profile job and people like me don't have a problems like this,...NOT true. I have lied ,borrowed and and have got myself into serious financial strife. Today I stop I have taken up running and have set myself a goal to run a half marathon hoping this will help. I am hoping that this diary will help and would appreciate any suggestions encouragement
anonymous
#2 Posted : Thursday, 4 June 2009 11:15:00 a.m.(UTC)
anonymous

Hi Mayb

Unfortunately.. people like us do have problems like this :)

By that, I mean that gamblers come from all socio-economic groups, all education levels. It doesn't discriminate again anyone.

Sounds like you have a good plan there with aiming for a half marathon, what other steps do you think you could make to allow yourself some time away from the pokies?

Have you contacted the helpline? They will also be able to give you some advice, and will be able to point you in the right direction.

Keep coming back and letting us know how things are going.
skyman
#3 Posted : Thursday, 4 June 2009 11:15:00 a.m.(UTC)
skyman

thank you so much for your reply you are so right. Do you do this out of the goodness of your heart I have spent alot of time reading the comments and I really appreciate the thoughtful way you respond!
I have contacted the helpline and feel good about that very hard to admit that I have a problem !!!Have been very tempted this afternoon but read your comments and here I am. I am going away tomorrow for the next few days with friends so will have no opportunity to gamble.!