logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

idiotgambler
#1 Posted : Thursday, 1 March 2018 10:32:41 p.m.(UTC)
idiotgambler

Groups: Registered

Ive always wanted to quit gambling and am now serious on getting on with it for real..
Im possibly the most prolific gambler in my circle of friends and have been living of borrowing from friends etc. I have current debts of approx 30k.
Now i dont gamble everyday nor every week but it seems to strike me when i think about having a good night out with money to blow (this of course by winning) over the weekends, what to buy my partner (gifts) and to buy for my son.. Last night i had another of what i call it "episodes" after i got paid from my new job.. what started out to be just $200 became $800, thats over half my fortnight pay "gone" in an hour or two.
Ive been gambling for over 20 years and it really sucks.. i think i have lost more than 200k all up over these years.
Im lucky as i dont pay rent at home and always have food on the table. So essentially i could be saving up all this money to look forward in buying a house for me and my partner. I know i need to stop. I previously stopped gambling for approx 8 months (cold turkey) and somehow relapse and have been gambling every now and then over the last year or so.

IT really does suck as its controlling my life (my time could be spent better exercising etc) but i really cant help it.
Read some of the posts today here, and yes i agree its a form of escapism, where i would love just sitting there waiting for the jackpot and hoping to win some extra money.
I guess my problem is as i mention is im also a giver, which i like to spoil my partner and son as often as i can.

So here it is.. my official first day of stopping. Will keep posting as other people have daily to help me overcome this DEMON!!
First goal is two weeks!
idiotgambler
#2 Posted : Friday, 2 March 2018 8:07:29 p.m.(UTC)
idiotgambler

Day 2.